39. Find somewhere that sells amazing breakfasts

25 06 2012
Green Refectory, Sydney Road, Brunswick

YUM.

It’d be fair to say I’ve eaten my fair share of amazing breakfasts in Melbourne. Back in my first week I had strawberry crepes in Degraves Street. Annamiek showed me the wonders of Arcadia on Gertrude Street on a day when my stomach was refusing to cooperate despite the incredible lemon ricotta hotcakes before me. And then there’s the homemade crumpets with marscapone and honey from Di Bella Roasting Warehouse in North Melbourne that have filled my tummy numerous times.

Melbourne is THE best city in the world for breakfast.

Actually, as it’s my last week here I’m going to be all sentimental and simply say Melbourne is the best city in the world. It’s my best city in the world.

And these past ten days since handing in my final uni assignments have made me realise how much I’m going to miss it.

I’ve been living like a complete tourist: Taking walks in the Botanical Gardens, going to the Immigration Museum (highly recommended) and tomorrow we’re navigating our way across the Dandenong Ranges by public transport. I’ve also been eating as though I’m on holiday. This has meant many trips to cafes. And in the past ten days, I’ve been to Green Refectory on Sydney Road, Brunswick twice. Once for lunch last week and then today I went there again. This time, for breakfast.

Wow.

I had the pancakes with caramel and banana ($7.95) and it was delicious. It was sweet – but not sickly – and the caramel and banana combo was always going to be a winner. I also had a large fresh fruit juice. I can’t remember how much a large was, but a small is $3.70. In a small you can pick up to three fruits to be juiced together, and up to five in a large. On both trips I’ve opted for apple, pineapple and mango nectar and have not been disappointed.

Sydney Road, Brunswick

Totally unposed picture.

Lucy decided to go for savoury and was narrowly defeated by her huge Breakfast Stack ($10) comprising of a poached egg, tomato, spinach, haloumi, bacon, hash brown (and possibly other bits I’ve forgotten). She also opted for a small orange juice and a flat white; both of which she seemed to enjoy.

So have I found somewhere that sells amazing breakfasts? Most definitely. But more impressively, I’ve found an entire city that does too.

Has anyone got any other Melbourne breakfastories (may have made that word up) they’d like to recommend?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

